The 2020 state tournament ended with the wildest, most dramatic finish of all.

   And another state championship for Newell-Fonda.

   Newell-Fonda stormed back from what looked to be an insurmountable 16-point deficit late in the third quarter and beat Bishop Garrigan 65-63 on Megan Morenz's running layup with 4 seconds left to win its second straight Class 1A title.

  The Mustangs ran their winning streak to 54 with their stunning comeback against a Bishop Garrigan team that showcased two of the state's brightest young stars in freshmen Audi Crooks and Molly Joyce.

  Crooks, who's 6-feet-3 with strong hands and a soft touch, was nearly unstoppable in the paint with 34 points and 17 rebounds and was voted captain of the all-tournament team. Joyce, a quick 5-foot-6 guard, scored 12 points before fouling out 6:33 left. That was critical because she was the Golden Bears' best ballhandler and she was sorely missed against Newell-Fonda's aggressive, trapping defense.

Newell-Fonda trailed 50-34 with less than 2 minutes remaining in the third quarter. The Mustangs were shooting poorly and weren't getting the transition baskets off turnovers that had enabled them to blow out so many opponents.

   But they kept at it, their pressure eventually began exacting a toll and they steadily fought their way back into it.

   Maggie Walker's follow-up basket brought the Mustangs to 61-60 with 2:09 to go and Macy Sievers' layup after a turnover put the Mustangs ahead by a one with 1:53 left. Kaylyn Meyers' two free throws put Bishop Garrigan back in front at 63-62, but she fouled out 12 seconds later and Bailey Sievers made one of her two free throws to tie it.

   With time running out, Ella Larsen knocked the ball out of Crooks' hands, the Mustangs rushed down the floor and Morenz, the team's only senior, hit her game winner to cap her team's stunning rally.

   Macy Sievers led Newell-Fonda with 25 points, Morenz scored 14 and Larsen had 12. The Mustangs ended up forcing 33 turnovers and making 19 steals. Larsen had five steals, while Morenz, Macy Sievers and Bailey Sievers each had four.

   Joyce, Larsen, Walker, Macy Sievers and Saint Ansgar's Hali Anderson also made the all-tournament team.